About a month ago I was scrolling through Facebook and came across this video of two of my favorite Christian artists ( Jonathan and Melissa Helser). It was a simple video but it gave me so much revelation (link posted below). I won’t spoil the video for you but, it’s worth watching. After watching the video I looked at mom and just simply stated that I don’t know mess and my mom who has known mess pretty much her whole life agreed. I don’t know mess. I know loss but, that’s not the same. Yes, life gets messy when you lose loved ones but, it’s different. And in this beautifully simple moment, I filled was with revelation. I am a writer, a lyricist, a poet but, inspiration isn’t always there. And before that night I would get so frustrated and angry that I couldn’t just sit down and write!  all of the sudden I saw that I was trying to fast track life, process, everything! And like God always does, He asked the mind blowing, transforming question; why are you trying to open presents that aren’t ready yet? I was so focused on the “lack” of inspiration I didn’t stop to see where all of the greatest songs and literature have come out of. They all came out of mess! You ask any great writer or lyricist and they won’t tell you that they were just sitting at a coffee shop and inspiration just hit them, no! Every single one of them will tell you how they were going through hell and the only thing they could do was write. Great art of any form comes from mess and fire. The funny thing is until that night I didn’t see just how much God has protected me from mess. Obviously I’ll know mess someday but, for now I’ll wait and I’ll be rooted in knowing that God has me, no matter what.

All of the sudden, I saw that I was trying to fast track life, process, everything! And like God always does, He asked the mind blowing, transforming question; why are you trying to open presents that aren’t ready yet? I was so focused on the “lack” of inspiration I didn’t stop to see where all of the greatest songs and literature have come out of. They all came out of mess! You ask any great writer or lyricist and they won’t tell you that they were just sitting at a coffee shop and inspiration just hit them, no! Every single one of them will tell you how they were going through hell and the only thing they could do was write. Great art of any form comes from mess and fire. The funny thing is until that night I didn’t see just how much God has protected me from mess. Obviously I’ll know mess someday but, for now I’ll wait and I’ll be rooted in knowing that God has me, no matter what.

 

Video Link- https://bethelmusic.com/blog/the-necessity-of-seasons-jonathan-and-melissa-helser/

